New Moon Rising by Brandy Nacole

Rating: 2 out of 5.

Pages: 152

Series: The Keepers of Knowledge, Book 3

Genres: Paranormal Romance; Urban Fantasy; Supernatural; Witches

Publication date: February 1, 2021

.

Meet Tamsin Grey, witch extraordinaire…

At least, she would be if the High Council would heed her family’s warnings.

For decades her grandmother had tried warning the council that the supernatural races were not safe, especially the witches. She could feel the darkness that haunted the bloodlines, as could Tamsin as she got older.

A hopelessness often troubled Tamsin’s dreams, dreams filled with secrets hidden in the dark wood. Secrets the council had tried to hide. She feared for the witch’s future, as well as the other supernatural races, if she didn’t unravel the dreams meaning. But how?

It wasn’t until three years after her grandmother’s death and a life outside of Pyreshore, New Hampshire that she gets her chance. A letter inviting her to become a Keeper. It was the ticket she needed to bring her home and give her the opportunity to right a wrong so many chose to ignore.

But upon returning she finds that not only will she have to worry about the Witch’s Keeper watching her every move, but also Talon Strohm, son of the witches High Council. Talon tells Tamsin she can trust him but revealing the truth to him could put everything in jeopardy.

Tamsin will have to make a choice, trust Talon or let her only chance to save the witches slip away.

After all, every secret needs a Keeper.

.

It was no coincidence Luna came into my life when she did. Many may call me crazy, but I know my grandmother’s spirit lives through her. The day after my grandmother died, Luna showed up on my doorstep. Her little kitten-self had no qualms in warming up to me. When I left home, Lina walked out of the house with me, refusing to be left behind.

Since leaving Pyreshore, she has been my confident. Always there when I needed her and pouting when she knew I was making a hard decision. The first month we had moved away, Luna refused to let me pet her. It wasn’t until I poured my heart out to her as she sat opposite me that she finally allowed me to touch her. It was as if she could feel my emotions and the turmoil I was dealing with.

Chapter One

.

As I’ve said before, some of my feelings on this book might stem from the fact that I started reading Payback’s a Witch by Lana Harper at the same time (2 days before this one, in fact). Harper’s book was just a stronger read for me right from the beginning, and I felt that detracted from my enjoyment in this world.

That being said, I also enjoyed my time in the others books in this series that I’ve read so far. As a collection of short stories written by different authors it’s to be expected that not every story is going to hit the way you want it to. Unfortunately, this was one of those reads for me.

I read a lot about witches and magical worlds. Like, a lot. And that’s made it easy for me to realize what I like and what I don’t when it comes to magical based stories. To me, this story was basic and obvious. Nothing that happened in this story surprised me, though I did find myself confused at some of the plot choices Nacole made. Like I said, this story just wasn’t for me.

I’m not going to say that you won’t enjoy this story. I can tell that it has merit and that a lot of people are going to enjoy it. Everyone has their own reading tastes, after all. All I can say is that this wasn’t the story for me.

Instead of continuing to go on about a story I didn’t enjoy too much, I’m going to end my review here. I’d still recommend giving this series a read if you’re interested in magical worlds and discovering new authors. I even promise to get back to the series myself and posting my thoughts on the stories as I go.

As it stands, I’ve read books 1, 2, 3, and 5 (they’re all standalones so can be read in any order). I’ll even make sure that my reviews for books 1 and 2 get posted sometime in the near future.

.


.

Other reviews from this series:

  1. Secrets of the Mermaid by Catherine Stine (Book 5)

Leave a comment